4 PSL researchers win 2019 ERC "Starting Grants"


On September 3, the European Research Council published the list with the 408 European young researchers who obtained the 2019 Starting Grants. PSL is proud to include, within its laboratories, 4 winners among the 41 French projects selected.

Checheurs de l'Institut Pierre Gilles de Gennes Université PSL © Daniel Nicolaevsky Université PSL

The ERC Starting Grants are awarded to talented early-career scientists (with 2-7 years of experience since completion of PhD) who are ready to build a research team to work an original field. Starting Grants may be awarded up to € 1.5 million for a period of 5 years.

Here is the list of the 2019 ERC Starting Grants winners from PSL labs Voici la liste des lauréates et lauréats des laboratoires de PSL pour l'appel à projets ERC:

 Maximizing the chances of success for calls for proposals: SAAP's missions

Funding from the ERC (European Research Council)

Founded in 2007, the European Research Council is part of the European Framework Program for Research and Innovation (Horizon 2020). Each year, the committee awards individual funding for a period of 5 years to scientists from all over the world. The ERC funds original exploratory research projects that bring scientific, technical and societal discoveries in all disciplines.

There are five ERC grants:

  • Starting Grant: for young researchers - 2 to 7 years after the dissertation was defended (up to 2 million euros)
  • Consolidator Grant: for researchers - 7 to 12 years after the dissertation was defended (up to 2.75 million euros)
  • Advanced Grant: for senior researchers (up to €3.5 million)
  • Synergy Grant: for a group of 2 to 4 researchers (up to 10 million euros over 6 years)
  • Proof of Concept: for the winners, to support the technology transfer of the results obtained within the framework of an ERC grant

PSL has created a dedicated service to support researchers in order to answer to European calls for proposals

All PSL news
Learn more

Over 150 PSL researchers have won ERC grants since 2012